Bill Viola with Alissa Guzman / excerpt

https://i1.wp.com/images.artnet.com/artwork_images_161_219511_bill-viola.jpg

“I started reading spiritual texts as a student, and one of the first ones that caught my eye was Rumi’s Mathnawi, an amazing five-volume discourse on human existence and the divine written in the 13th century. When I started to read that material and apply it to what I knew about art and art making, and what I knew about contemporary existence, I began to see things in a much more connected way. The death of my mother in 1991 was the moment when the barrier between life and art disappeared. In a way it wasn’t even a barrier because I didn’t even know it existed. The borderline between life and death is not a brick wall that you battle your way through, it is fragile and porous, like a soap bubble. This is a profound thing, and it gives us this urgent need in life to touch the infinite.” _Bill Viola

img: Purification, 2005

For full interview at WhiteHot magazine:

http://whitehotmagazine.com/articles/in-conversation-with-bill-viola/1979

About this entry